Don’t trip over the finish line

health & wellness, meditation, mindfulness, thoughts for living, Uncategorized
“Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.” Hebrews 12: 1
finishline
Don’t trip over the finish line. That’s an expression I share with people who are so close to achieving their goal. That’s the expression I’m using for myself in these last few weeks of completing my supervised hours towards independent license.
Many distractions have been hollering from the sidelines in my endeavor, which I  accept (some days reluctantly and some days enthusiastically) as my calling for this time in my life. It has been tempting to throw in the towel and pick up the pieces from my former vocation. But as a new mentor has cautioned me, we can’t go back, we can only keep moving forward. So, I keep with the plans my Employer (aka as Higher Power) has laid out for me this day. Being all powerful, God is supplying me with all my needs. Apparently, some of my needs have been to learn how to persevere through unpredictable circumstances at work and in my personal life. And in an ironic way, I recognize if life was predictable, then many of us wouldn’t have a calling.
Today, my focus is on what I can contribute to the stream of life in a positive way and detach myself from the negativity others may try to project onto me. And when someone throws something into my lane, I will step over it and keep going.
 
Leave a Reply

